UKR2 – Kiev – the capital of Ukraine

My way of getting to Ukraine was – as I am thinking about it now – far too long and complicated : D, but this was my own invention, so what else could you expect. The route was: home-> Warsaw (bus), Warsaw -> Crakow (train), Cracow -> Kiev (plane), all about 3 days, but including stoping for a night in Cracow and Kiev. Then I intended to get to my final destination, Luhansk, by train, which was supposed to take me another 15 hours.

As I think of it now, maybe it’s better that the first city I visited in Ukraine was Kiev. Having small, but still some experience of seeing European capitals, I can say with 100% certainty that Ukrainian capital is not inferior to them in any way. What surprised me though, was Borispol airport – it was so small as for such a big and important city!

The easiest way to get from the Borispol to the city centre (or main train station ) is to take the small bus called “marshrutka“. They are leaving every half an hour from the main entrance to the airport.  It’s a quite convinient and cheap tranport, as marshrutkas work from 6 am till 10 pm, and the cost of the ticket is only around 20-25 UAH (approximately 2-2,5 EUR)*. The exact schedule and more detailed informations can be found on the official website of Borispol airport. (http://kbp.com.ua/english/general/index.html)

Actually I have to say that I was pretty amazed by how big and beautiful train station in Kiev is. Later, when I travelled more, I’ve noticed that this can be said about every bigger city in Ukraine; it’s not surprising when it comes to huge turistic centres like Sevastopol or Odessa, but even our Luhansk had a decent and pleasant-to-eye train station. This is definitely something we in Poland could take as an example, as that’s not our strong point. Yes, we can argue that our train stations’re destroyed during the WWII, but it’s more over 50 years passing now and in the most of cases nothing has been done.

  

I had only 1 day in Kiev, as I arrived in the city around 9pm and had my train to Luhansk around 4:30pm the next day. But still, thanks to my friends Olessa and Roma I managed to see some main places in the city centre. To be honest, I am not sure what I would have done after coming to Kiev if Olessa and Roma hadn’t accepted my request on Couchsurfing, probably I would have ended lost somewhere while looking for a hostel    ;-P. But they did accept and what is more were so enormusely kind and helpful to me they agreed to show me around as well. The outcome of our meeting can be seen below : ).

                                    

Generally speaking I’m not too big fan of churches. I’m not really sure if I could name 3 of them in Gdansk … But these ones are much different in the architectural style (Poland has mostly catholic churches), so I find them pretty interesting. Still, I think that my favourite part of the city was Andriejewski Wzwoz Street, narrow cobbled street, going down from the city centre to the river. Picturesque and so colorful, it is a place various things can be found: starting from loads of souvenirs to traditional houses and restaurants. For literature fans, a definite must-see will be the house of a worldwide-known Russian writer Michail Bulhakov, which was turned into a museum of his life and works.

                                   

On our way back we decided to stop and eat in the traditional Ukraininan restaurant. The idea of this place is very simple – a buyer simply points out on the table and shows what he/she wants, the assistant gives him a portion of it and everything’s being summed up at the checkout. I especially liked a traditional outfit of one lady from the restaurant staff… she was looking so pretty : ). And the food was tasteful as well.

   

Just one more thing worth mentioning about Kiev. It was July 4th while I was sightseeing the city and just below you can see what was the state of the future Kiev Euro 2012 stadium. I was quite shocked to see how raw it looks like… in Poland they aren’t finished yet too, but works are much more advanced. Roma and a lot of other people I’ve been talking to are very sceptical about how it will be in Ukraine during the next year’s championships. So do I after seeing all the traffic and marshrutkas as nearly only mean of transportation… still, there’s one more year, so let’s stop the divagations here. Let’s just say it’s lucky that Kiev stadium will host the championships as the last, not first one… ; ).

*1 EUR= 11,5 UAH, 1 PLN = 2,7 UAH (approximately)

~ by jumikao on August 25, 2011.

3 Responses to “UKR2 – Kiev – the capital of Ukraine”

  1. Are ukrainian women as beautiful as Russian?

    • Yes, they are ;). I don’t really differentiate between them to be honest, but still there’s a lot of beautiful women in Ukraine (as long as we are talking about young ones…)

  2. Kiev is a good city. Despite all the efforts of its inhabitants. It’s still beautiful. Mostly thanks to Dniepr and the nature around the city

Leave a Reply

 
